Children’s Literature & Media Awards

General information pertaining to these and other awards in this area can be found from the following sites:

United States

American Library Association Awards

Bank Street College of Education Awards

  • Josette Frank Award for Younger Readers and Older Readers
  • Flora Stieglitz Straus Award
  • Claudia Lewis
  • The Margaret Wise Brown Board Book Award to be awarded for the first time in 2023

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Award for Best Publication for Kids

  • Best Publication for Early Readers
  • Best Publication for Kids
  • Best Publication for Teens

Lambda Literary Awards 

  • LGBTQ Children’s/Middle Grade
  • LGBTQ Young Adult


International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY)


English-language Children’s Book Awards in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, New Zealand, and South Africa


Children’s Book Council of Australia

There are six categories in the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. 

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood
  • CBCA Picture Book of the Year
  • Eve Pownall Award 
  • CBCA Award for New Illustrator 


Governor General’s Library Award

  • Young People’s Literature - Text
  • Young People’s Literature - Illustrated Books

Great Britain


The Yoto Carnegies Medals

  • Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing
  • Yoto Carnegie Medal for Illustration (formerly known as the Kate Greenaway Medal)

The Royal Society Young People’s Book Prize: The Young People's Book Prize aims to promote literacy in young people and to inspire them to read about science. It also supports the writing of excellent, accessible STEM books for under-14s.”


Scottish Book Trust: Bookbug Picture Book Prize: “Celebrates Scottish picture books and encourages reading for pleasure”


Literacy Association of Ireland Biennial Children’s Book Awards

  • Young Adult
  • 10-13 Years
  • 6-9 Years
  • Under 5

Children’s Books Ireland Awards

  • Book of the Year
  • Judges’ Special Award
  • Honour Award for Fiction
  • Honour Award for Illustration
  • The Eilís Dillon Award

New Zealand 

New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults

  • Margaret Mahy Book of the Years
  • Picture Book Award
  • Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction Award
  • Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction
  • Russell Clark Award for Illustration
  • Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award for Te reo Māori
  • NZSA Best First Book Award

South Africa

English Academy of Southern Africa Percy Fitzpatrick Prize (biennial)