Criteria for Nomination 

The 2025 Lillian Smith Book Awards nomination criteria are as follows:

  • Nominated books must have been published between January 1, 2024 and December 31, 2024 to be considered for the 2025 awards cycle.
  • Books previously published before 2024 in the United States or another country in any format (i.e. paper or electronic) are ineligible.
  • Only English language books will be considered.
  • Translated books should not be nominated, even if the English translation was published in 2024.
  • Poetry, young adult and children's books, and photo essays should not be nominated.
  • Anthologies and other edited books, and books published exclusively in electronic formats should not be nominated.
  • Publishers may nominate no more than three (3) titles per nomination cycle.
  • The Lillian Smith Book Awards are most interested in works that deal with race, social justice, civil and human rights, the education and socialization of young people, breaking silence among repressed groups and matters that are notably significant or of special interest affecting the changing South.

The following materials must be received by January 15, 2025 for a title to be considered:

  • A nomination form
  • A $50 nomination fee for each nominated title. Payment may be completed through the Pay Online form or by Check. Please make checks payable to University of Georgia Libraries/Lillian Smith Book Awards
  • Nine (9) copies of each nominated title for distribution to judges and sponsors mailed to the following University of Georgia Libraries address:

Lillian Smith Book Awards
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library
University of Georgia Libraries
Russell Special Collections Building
300 South Hull Street
Athens, GA 30602


Contact information:

Phone: 706-542-7123
Fax: 706-542-0672

Federal Employer I.D. Number: 58-6001998