Committee on Diversity and Inclusion for the UGA Libraries

The purpose of this standing committee is to promote diversity and inclusion at the University Libraries, inclusive of the UGA Press and Georgia Review.

The University of Georgia Libraries, including the UGA Press and The Georgia Review, support the University’s core values with respect to diversity and inclusion. We strive to create an environment of acceptance and respect in which all students, faculty, staff, and visitors feel welcomed and included at the University of Georgia. Education at a university occurs in more settings than classrooms and within more individuals than students. Libraries are often described as the heart of an academic community, a characterization that continues to be valid in an increasingly digital age. Therefore it is especially important that the UGA Libraries embody and uphold the University’s commitment to diversity. The more we all interact with a variety of individuals, the better prepared we will be to thrive in a world whose diversity will only continue to expand.