University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries
University of Georgia Libraries
hargrett library :: past exhibits :: uga presidents

From Ahmedunggar to Lavonia:
Presidents at the University of Georgia 1785-1997

"The Crown of a President of a College is indeed a Crown of Thorns."
Josiah Meigs

The Hargrett Library has mounted this exhibit to honor the past presidents of the University of Georgia and to bid farewell to President Knapp who will be leaving the University to pursue a post in the Clinton Administration.

The images in this digital exhibit differ somewhat from the physical exhibit which will remain in the Turner Gallery until the beginning of March, 1997.

Abraham Baldwin 1785-1801Walter B. Hill 1899-1905
Josiah Meigs 1801-10David C. Barrow 1906-25
John Brown 1811-16Charles M. Snelling 1926-32
Robert Finley 1817Steadman V. Sanford 1932-35
Moses Waddel 1819-29Harmon White Caldwell 1935-48
Alonzo S. Church 1829-59Jonathan C. Rogers 1949-50
Andrew A. Lipscomb 1860-74Omer C. Aderhold 1950-67
Henry H. Tucker 1874-78Frederick C. Davison 1967-86
Patrick H. Mell 1878-88Henry K. Stanford 1986-87
William E. Boggs 1889-99Charles B. Knapp 1987-97


All images on the Hargrett site are either protected by copyright law, or are the property of the University of Georgia Libraries, Hargrett Library. Permission to publish must be obtained from both the Hargrett Library, and/or the legal copyright holder. See: Permission to Publish