Committee on Diversity and Inclusion for the UGA Libraries

The purpose of this standing committee is to promote diversity and inclusion at the University Libraries, inclusive of the UGA Press and Georgia Review.

The University of Georgia Libraries, including the UGA Press and The Georgia Review, support the University’s core values with respect to diversity and inclusion. We strive to create an environment of acceptance and respect in which all students, faculty, staff, and visitors feel welcomed and included at the University of Georgia. Education at a university occurs in more settings than classrooms and within more individuals than students. Libraries are often described as the heart of an academic community, a characterization that continues to be valid in an increasingly digital age. Therefore it is especially important that the UGA Libraries embody and uphold the University’s commitment to diversity. The more we all interact with a variety of individuals, the better prepared we will be to thrive in a world whose diversity will only continue to expand.

Committee Charter

The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion has a maximum of fifteen members, twelve general members and three ex officio members. The ex officio members are:

  • The Chair of the Library Staff Representative Group (LSRG)
  • The Chair of the Libraries Faculty Advisory Board (FAB)
  • The Human Resources Manager, or title of highest-ranking Libraries HR employee
     

Members of the Committee

Mollie Armour Ex Officio Administration marmour@uga.edu
Lisa M. Bayer Co-chair University Press Director lbayer@uga.edu
John Cropp Access Services Library Associate II jcropp@uga.edu
Benjamin Davis Cataloging Librarian II davisb@uga.edu
Sheila Devaney Research & Instruction Librarian IV sdevaney@uga.edu
Elizabeth Durusau Secretary Collection Development Library Associate I edurusau@uga.edu
Venus Jackson Hargrett Library Records Manager vjackson@uga.edu
Michael Kanning Ex Officio Systems Application Analyst Specialist mkanning@uga.edu
Christian Lopez Russell Library Librarian III clopez@uga.edu
Sandra Riggs Co-chair Research & Instruction Librarian III sriggs@uga.edu
Brenda Robbins Access Services Library Associate I bbrad@uga.edu
Donald Summerlin Ex Officio Digital Library of Georgia Librarian II donsum@uga.edu
Sara Wright Human Resources Human Resources Specialist I sara.wright@uga.edu