Committee on Diversity and Inclusion for the UGA Libraries

The purpose of this standing committee is to promote diversity and inclusion at the University Libraries, inclusive of the UGA Press and Georgia Review.

The University of Georgia Libraries, including the UGA Press and The Georgia Review, support the University’s core values with respect to diversity and inclusion. We strive to create an environment of acceptance and respect in which all students, faculty, staff, and visitors feel welcomed and included at the University of Georgia. Education at a university occurs in more settings than classrooms and within more individuals than students. Libraries are often described as the heart of an academic community, a characterization that continues to be valid in an increasingly digital age. Therefore it is especially important that the UGA Libraries embody and uphold the University’s commitment to diversity. The more we all interact with a variety of individuals, the better prepared we will be to thrive in a world whose diversity will only continue to expand.

Committee Charter

The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion has a maximum of fifteen members, twelve general members and three ex officio members. The ex officio members are:

  • The Chair of the Library Staff Representative Group (LSRG)
  • The Chair of the Libraries Faculty Advisory Board (FAB)
  • The Human Resources Manager, or title of highest-ranking Libraries HR employee


The 2022 University of Georgia Libraries 15-Day Racial Equity Challenge 

Created by members of the Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (Sarah Gutierrez and Erin Leach) with assistance from Kathleen Kern, Mary Miller, and Sandra Riggs. Adapted from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s 21-Day Racial Equity Challenge. Members of the 15-Day Racial Equity Challenge Planning Group for 2022 were: Kelsey Forester, Sarah Gutierrez, Erin Leach, and Camie Williams. Additional support for the Challenge was provided by Emily Hopkins and Mandy Mastrovita.

In June 2022, Libraries’ employees participated in a voluntary 15-Day Racial Equity Challenge to develop a greater understanding of issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Participants engaged with the curriculum via an online learning platform, which included asynchronous discussion boards. The Challenge also included opportunities for employees to meet synchronously to view documentaries and archived webinars related to topics covered in the Challenge.


Creative Commons License

The UGA Libraries 15-Day Racial Equity Challenge Syllabus is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

You can access the syllabus here.

Members of the Committee

Term Expires
Mollie Armour Human Resources Human Resources Librarian I Ex Officio
Hayley Cox Administration June 2023
Sheila Devaney Co-chair Research & Instruction Librarian IV June 2024
Kelsey Forester Research & Instruction Librarian II June 2023
Sarah Jordan Ex Officio Georgia Review, The June 2023
Robert A Lay, Jr. Ex Officio Russell Library Librarian III June 2023
Mandy Mastrovita Co-chair Digital Library of Georgia Librarian III June 2023
Eduardo Mendez Access Services June 2024
Sandra Riggs DEI Liaison Research & Instruction Librarian IV Reporting Role
Maggie Su Georgia Review, The June 2024
Camie Williams Administration June 2023