UGA Special Collections

The University of Georgia Libraries house three Special Collections with holdings comprised of primary sources such as manuscripts, rare books, film and video, audio recordings, and other unique materials.

Each of these Special Collections has guidelines for using their materials. Visit their respective web pages to find out more about policies, procedures, and scope of collections. Contacting these Special Collections is the best way to find out about the primary sources they have, but you can also find information about some of their primary sources by searching in GIL. [More detail on searching for primary resources in GIL.]

Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library: Consists of the Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Georgiana Collection, the University of Georgia Archives and Records Management. The Library serves the University scholarly community, as well as scholars and researchers worldwide. Subject interests include Georgia, Book Arts, Theater, Music, History, Literature, Journalism and Genealogy.

Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection: One of the largest broadcasting archives in the country with over 200,000 titles and 5 million feet of news clips. The Peabody Awards Collection is the flagship of the archives, and contains nearly every entry for the first major broadcast award given in the United States. Other collections depict the history of Atlanta and the Southeast, the entire civil rights movement, and such social and cultural events as the desegregation of the University of Georgia.

Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies: Consists of over 250 collections from politicians, political parties, public policy organizations, federal and state appointees, political observers, and activists from modern Georgia (1900-present). The collections provide significant documentation of the broad spectrum of political activities of modern Georgia through over 13,000 linear feet of correspondence, speeches, drafts of legislation, domestic and foreign policy papers, polling data, campaign materials, sound recordings, electronic records, photographs, film, artifacts, and oral history.