Finding Films and Television Programs

Why use a film or TV program?

Use a film to illustrate or educate.

How do I find films or TV programs?

  1. Commercial DVDs and videos are available in the Media Department in the basement of the Main Library. Students may check them out for three days and faculty for seven days. The collection can be found in the library catalog GIL-Find:
    • From the GIL-Find homepage, type in your title, director, or keyword and click on 'Find.'
    • Under the 'Narrow' menu at the left of your results list, click on 'Video.'
  2. The Libraries have the Films on Demand database with streaming video of films in the arts, humanities, history, business, social sciences, sciences, health, and medicine. [GALILEO password required for off-campus use]:
  3. The Libraries' Peabody Awards Archive has a selection of streaming television programs that were nominated for or won Peabody Awards:
    • Use the 'Precision Search' in the Peabody Awards database.
    • Type TV in the top search box and select 'TV, Radio and/or Web' from the drop-down menu.
    • Type a subject keyword or phrase in the second search box and leave it as 'Keyword Anywhere.'
    • You may limit your results to programs available online; those not available online may be viewed in Media Archives.
  4. The Internet Archive has a large number of streaming video collections for free viewing.
  5. The Libraries' Walter J. Brown Media Archives has a variety of archival video, including newsfilm, television programs, interviews, Georgia-related films, UGA-related films, and home movies. Videos may be viewed in Media Archives.
  6. The Libraries' Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies also has archival film and video focusing on political history that may be viewed onsite.