University of Georgia Libraries Research Central Home UGA Libraries' Home Sitemap Search

International Trade Statistics Sources

 

Databases   Print Sources  Trade Classifications  Research Aids

 

Source Comparison

Click source title for more information.

 

Title

 

Medium

Reporting Countries

 

Years

Commodity Detail

World Trade Analyzer

CD-ROM

180

15-20

SITC 1-4 digit

SourceOECD

GALILEO@UGA

35

1960-

SITC 5 digit; HS 2-6 digit

USITC DataWeb

Web

U.S.

1989-

HTS 2-10 digit; NAICS; SITC 5

Eurostat

Web

25

1995-

CN8; HS 2-6 digit; SITC 5 digit

WTO Statistics Database

Web

Varies

1980-  et al.

Broad groups

Global Insight

Web password

Varies

10+ et al.

Sectors

International Financial Statistics

CD-ROM

200 +

1948-

Broad groups; sectors

World Development Indicators

CD-ROM

208

1960-

Broad groups

UN International Trade Statistics Yearbook

Print

180+

1980-

SITC 1-3 & some 5 digit

World Trade Annual

Print

23

1964-1995

SITC 1-3 digit

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics

Print & Web

Varies

Varies

SITC 1-3 digit

International Historical Statistics

Print

Most

1750-2000

Product groups

International Trade Statistics (WTO)

Print

Varies

1986-1995; 1998- 

Broad groups; sectors

Direction of Trade Statistics

Print

186

1950-1990; 1992-

Total trade

 

 

DATABASES

 

World Trade Analyzer (CD-ROM)

 

Location

Non-internet workstation - Main Reference

 

Description

·        Content: Detailed imports and exports data

·        Trade classification: SITC 1-4 digit level

·        Years: rolling 15 to 20 years

·        Frequency: annual

·        Countries: 180 reporting countries including former east block; all trading partners

·        Other groupings: world, world regions

·        Indicators: value, in U.S. dollars (default) plus 13 other currencies. Other indicators: percent change and share of market.

·        Data format: MS Excel, delimited text

                       

Retrieving data      

·        Click "table view" on start-up menu.          

·        Click button in upper left (aqua box) to bring up a data selection dialog.                    

·        Select any of the five table "dimensions".   

·        Click "list items" to bring up a selection list to customize table content.

 

Downloading data

·        Click "export" from menu bar.

 

SourceOECD

 

Location     

http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=xoec-uga1 (GALILEO@UGA)

 

Description                        

·        Content: Detailed imports and exports data; other economic data and information

·        Trade classification: SITC 1-5 digit level; Harmonized System 2-6 digit level

·        Years: 1960- (SITC, Rev. 2); other classifications: 1993- (SITC, Rev. 3); 1996- (Harmonized System, 1996 Rev.); 1990-2000 (Harmonized System, 1988)

·        Frequency: annual

·        Countries: 35 reporting countries; all trading partners

·        Other groupings: OECD, world, world regions

·        Indicators: value in U.S. dollars and quantity (units vary).

·        Data format: MS Excel, delimited text

 

Retrieving data                  

·        Open "Go to" drop-down menu and select "OECD Databases".

·        Select "ITCS International Trade by Commodity". 

·        Choose one of five trade databases

·        Select a country table. (NOTE: in the SITC 2 database there are two tables per country, each covering a different range of years.) 

·        Click "Deliver Data" at bottom of the abstract. 

·        Follow steps to interactively retrieve data.

 

Downloading data    

·        Open "Download Report Data" to select output format. 

HINT: Prior to downloading tables with many columns try rearranging the table onscreen by dragging and dropping one or more table dimensions so that they display as rows rather than columns.

 

USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb

 

Location     

http://dataweb.usitc.gov/ (requires free registration)

                       

Description

·        Content: Detailed imports and exports data

·        Trade classification: Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) 2-10 digit level; SITC 1-5 digit level; SIC 1-4 digit level, NAICS 2-6 digit level

·        Years: 1989-

·        Frequency: annual, quarterly, monthly

·        Countries: 1 reporting country (U.S.); all trading partners

·        Other groupings: world, world regions, economic regions, U.S. import programs

·        Indicators: value in U.S. dollars and quantity (units vary); other indicators: percent change

·        Data format: delimited text

                       

Retrieving data         

·        Login with ID and password created when you registered. 

·        Follow steps to select and format data. 

NOTE: To look up 6-10 digit HTS commodity descriptions use the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) of the United States.

 

Downloading data    

·        Scroll to bottom of output screen.

·        Under Method 1 select ‘comma’ or preferred file delimiter and click download button.

·        Right click on file link and select ‘save target as’ to set up download to your local PC.

 

Eurostat

 

Location     

http://epp.eurostat.cec.eu.int/

 

Description

·        Content: Detailed imports and exports data; aggregated and derived trade data

·        Trade Classification: Combined Nomenclature 8 digit (CN8) Harmonized System (HS) 2-6 digit level, SITC 1-5 digit level

·        Years: 1995-

·        Frequency: annual, monthly

·        Countries: 25 EU reporting countries. All trading partners.

·        Other groupings: EU 15, EU 25, Eurozone

·        Indicators: value in Euros, quantity in 100 KG

·        Data format: delimited text

 

Retrieving data

·        Select language to enter Eurostat

·        Select “External Trade” from menu on left

·        Select “Data” tab

·        Scroll down page and drill down through the “External Trade Detailed Data” until you get to an Access database icon.  Click the icon.

NOTE:  A choice for SITC data is not present at the step above—it can be selected only after first selecting either CN8 or one of the HS choices!

·        On the following screen click the database you want and select “New Query”

·        Follow subsequent steps to retrieve the data.  You can retrieve a maximum of 3,000 data cells per query.

NOTE: The data retrieved will be displayed in small chunks in an interactive applet.  You can change any of the dimensions to display a different portion of the table.  To download the entire subset of data you retrieved, see Downloading data below.

 

Downloading data

·        Click “Save Extraction” to download the entire subset of data you retrieved.  “Save Table” will download only the chunk displayed onscreen.

·        Save the zipped file to your local workstation.  When you unzip the file it will yield 2 delimited text files, one containing the data and one containing the documentation explaining the country codes, commodity codes, etc., used in the actual data file.

 

WTO Statistics Database

 

Location     

http://stat.wto.org/Home/WSDBHome.aspx?Language=

 

Description

·        Content: Aggregated and derived trade data

·        Special focus: total imports and exports, broad commodity groups, overall trade index

·        Years: Varies, some series 1980-, some series 1990-, total trade 1948-.

·        Frequency: annual

·        Countries: Reporting countries varies by series.  Trading partners in few very broad groupings only available for some series.

·        Other groupings: world, world regions depending on series

·        Indicators: value, mostly U.S. dollars at current prices

·        Data format: Excel, delimited text

 

Retrieving data

·        Select “Time Series” or “Profiles” and follow the steps.

 

Downloading data

·        With retrieved table displayed click download link on left and follow steps.

 

Global Insight

 

Location     

Data Services workstations (UGA affiliated users only) - Main Reference. 

UGA users with a WRDS account can access on the Web at: http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/

 

Description            

·        Content: Economic data including aggregated and derived trade data

·        Special focus: total imports and exports, broad sectors, balance of trade, indices

·        Years: Most series provide at least 10 years of data. A few series go back to 1960. 

·        Frequency: annual, quarterly, monthly

·        Countries: Varies by series. No trading partners.

·        Other groupings: world, world regions

·        Indicators: value, some series in U.S. dollars, others in national currency or Euro

·        Data format: delimited text, dBase, SAS, html

 

Retrieving data                  

·                                Click on WRDS icon on desktop to start application.

·                                Select Global Insight from WRDS home page.

·                                In left hand menu select annual, quarterly, or monthly under "International" and follow the steps.

NOTE: Trade data are also available under "IMF Data" – See International Financial Statistics for additional details about the IMF data.

 

Downloading data

·        When data retrieval request has run to completion right click on the link to the output file and select "save target as" (Internet Explorer users).

 

International Financial Statistics (CD-ROM)

 

Location     

Non-internet workstation - Main Reference

                       

Description

·        Content: Financial and economic data including aggregated and derived trade data

·        Special focus: total exports and imports, exports of broad commodity groups, total goods & services, balance of trad