University of Georgia Libraries Research Central Home UGA Libraries' Home Sitemap Search

Finding Tests and Test Information in the UGA Libraries

Compiled by Nadine Cohen
Date January 2003; updated February 2004


Introduction
Finding test information in GIL
Selected Sources containing test instruments:
General | Psychosocial | Health | Work | Marketing & Communication | Marriage & Family | Crime & Delinquency | Gerontology

Sources for locating tests
Sources for evaluating tests
Databases containing tests or test information
Internet resources on testing
Handbooks and dictionaries
 

Introduction

This bibliography will help you find test instruments and information about testing and measurement in the UGA libraries.  Tests may be published or unpublished.   The majority of published tests are not publicly available and in most cases you will need to buy a copy of the test from the publisher.  Tests that are not commercially published may be found in books, journal articles, printed reports, or available from the author.   The sources cited below either contain complete tests or tell you how to obtain them.  If you intend to administer an unpublished test, you will need to contact the author for permission; you may incorporate these tests into academic papers without prior permission, so long as proper credit is given.

Return to Main Menu

Finding test information in GIL

To find books on tests and measurements in GIL, the UGA libraries' catalog, use the Exact Search mode. On the search screen, type the phrase psychological tests, click in the radio button beside 'Subject Heading' and click on the GO button.  You will retrieve an alphabetical list of subject terms beginning with psychological tests.  If you click on the "see also" button to the left of this term you will retrieve a list of related subject headings.  You can click on any of these terms to retrieve a list of all books that share that subject heading.  The books you retrieve will cover methods of test construction, and/or applications of testing. They may or may not contain actual test instruments. (The only way to be sure a book contains actual tests is to look at the book yourself.) The same process will work with the phrase educational tests and measurements.  This subject heading will retrieve books on testing student academic achievement and aptitudes.  If you have any questions consult a librarian at the reference desk, or call the reference department at 542-3251 or contact us by email .

Return to Main Menu
 
 

Sources containing test instruments

The following titles contain complete test instruments. If you plan to administer these tests, be sure you are not violating copyright law. Under current copyright law, assume someone holds copyright on anything until you can prove otherwise. The assumption is that intellectual ownership exists, even if the owner has not yet registered it with the US Copyright Office. Contact the owner for any use that falls outside the "Fair Use" doctrine. If in doubt, check the Regents Guide to Fair Use.

 

General / Multi-subject:

A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests
Otfried Spreen and Esther Strauss.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
RC386.6.N48 S67 1998 (Science Library, 4th floor)

Developmental Psychometrics: A Resource Book for Mental Health Workers and Educators
Jack L. Fadely and Virginia N. Hosler
Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas, 1980.
BF722.F32 (Main, 6th floor)

"Designed for mental health, medical and educational personnel who must do front line screening and diagnosis of children with behavioral disorders.  The material in this book provides an overview of a comprehensive screening process that can be accomplished at the front line level of assessment."  (From preface.)

Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
Delbert Charles Miller
Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1991.  5th edition.
H62.M44 1991 (Main, 5th floor)

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Paula E. Lester and Lloyd K. Bishop.
Lancaster, PA: Technomic Publishing Co., 2000.  2nd edition.
LB3051.L4543 2000 (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)

Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations
Reginald L. Jones, editor.
Hampton, VA : Cobb & Henry Publishers, 1996.  2 volumes.
BF176 .H37 1996  (Main, 6th floor)

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
Compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian, University of Texas, Arlington
http://libraries.uta.edu/helen/test&meas/testmainframe.htm

Index of full text test instruments from 80 print test compilations. Searchable by author and keyword. The UGA libraries may not own every print compilation listed.

Tests in Microfiche
Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service, 1975 -.  Annual.
Curriculum Materials Center, Aderhold 2nd floor

 

Psychosocial:

Exacting Beauty: Theory, Assessment, and Treatment of Body Image Disturbance
J. Kevin Thompson, et al.
Washington DC: American Psychological Association, 1999
RC569.5 .B65 E93 1999 (Science, 4th floor)

Contains 36 scales measuring social, societal, interpersonal, feminist and behavioral-cognitive concerns.

Guide to Intelligence and Personality Testing: Including Actual Tests and Answers
Victor Serebriakoff
Park Ridge, NJ: Parthanon Publishing Group, 1989
BF431 .S439 1988 (Main, 6th floor)

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures
John Rush, Jr., et al.
Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Association, 2000.
RC473 .P78 A46 2000 (Science, 4th floor)

108 actual measures are included on the CD-ROM that accompanies the text.

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
Clive M. Davis, et al.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1998.
HQ60 .H36 1998 (Main, 5th floor)

Contains 196 instruments measuring attitudes and behaviors on sex and related social issues, such as abortion, AIDS, gender issues, etc.

Measurement of Love and Intimate Relations:Theories Scales and Applications for Love Development, Maintenance and Dissolution.
Oliver C.S. Tzeng
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 1993
HM132 .T84 1993 (Main, 5th floor)

Contains 28 test instruments.

Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
Joel Fischer and Kevin Corcoran.
New York: Free Press, 2000.  2 vols.
BF176.C66 (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes
John P. Robinson , Phillip R. Shaver and Lawrence S. Wrightsman
San Diego, Academic Press, 1991
BF698.4.M38 (Main, 6th floor)

Measures of Political Attitudes
John P. Robinson, et al.
Ann Arbor, MI: Institute for Social Research, 1968.
JA74.5 .R6 (Main, 6th floor)

Measures of Social Psychological Attitudes
John P. Robinson and Phillip R. Shaver
Ann Arbor, MI:  Institute for Social Research, 1978.  Revised edition
HM251 .R739 1973 (Main, 5th floor)

Mirrors for Behavior II: An Anthology of Observation Instruments
Philadelphia: Research for Better Schools, 1970.
LB 1731.M5 (Main, 2nd floor)
Mirrors for Behavior III: An Anthology of Observation Instruments
Wyncote, PA: Communication Materials Center, 1974.
LB1131.5 M57 (Main, 2nd floor)

Scales for the Measurement of Attitudes
Marvin E. Shaw and Jack M. Wright.
New York: McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1967.
BF378.A75 S45  (Main, 6th floor)

Health:

Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments
Sam Salek, editor.
Chichester ; New York : Wiley, 1998.
RA407 .C65 1998 (Science Reference, 2nd floor)

Over 150 questionnaires and translations that measure health status and quality of life. Includes general quality of life instruments, disease specific instruments and measures that target specific populations, such as children and the elderly.

Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires
Ian McDowell and Claire Newell..
New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. 2nd ed.
RA408.5.M38 1996 (Science, 4th floor)

Work:

Assessments A to Z: A Collection of 50 Questionnaires, Instruments and Inventories
Bonnie Burn, Maggi Payment
San Francisco: Jossey-Bass/Pfeiffer, 2000.

HF5549.5 .T7 B795 2000 (accompanying CD Rom at Circulation Desk)

Assessments measure various job related attitudes, knowledge and skills, such as assertiveness, business writing, customer service, office behavior and time management.

The Experience of Work: A Compendium and Review of 249 Measures and Their Use
John D. Cook, et al.
New York: Academic Press, 1981.
HF5549.5.A83 E9 1981 (Main, 5th floor)

Measures of Occupational Attitudes and Occupational Characteristics
John P. Robinson, et.al
Ann Arbor, MI: Institute for Social Research, 1969.
JA74.5 .R6 (Main, 6th floor)

Marketing and Communication:

Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
Rebecca B. Rubin, et al, editors.
New York: Guilford Press, 1994.
P91.3.C62 1994 (Main, 3rd floor)

Handbook of Marketing Scales: Multi-Item Measures for Marketing and Consumer Behavior Research
William O. Bearden, Richard G. Netemeyer, Mary F. Mobley.
Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1999.
HF5415.3.B323 1999 (Main, 5th floor)

Marriage & Family:

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
John Touliatos, Barry Perlmutter and Murray Straus, editors.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2001

HQ728 .H267 2001 (Main, 5th floor)

Abstracts of 976 instruments arranged under five broad categories; dimensions of interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, roles and power, and adjustment. Each abstract includes content, procedures, reliability, validity and selected references. Indexed by author, title and classification

 

Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy
Norman Fredman & Robert Sherman.
New York : Brunner/Mazel, 1987.
RC488.5 .F73 1987 (Science Library, 4th floor)

Marriage and Family Assessment: A Sourcebook for Family Therapy
Erik E. Filsinger, editor
Beverly Hills : Sage Publications, 1983.

Contains six complete test instruments.

 

Crime & Delinquency

Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency
Stanley L. Brodsky and H. O'Neal Smitherman.
New York: Plenum Press, 1983.
HV9274.B76 1983 (Main, 5th floor)

Gerontology:

Research Instruments in Social Gerontology
David J. Mangen and Warren A. Peterson.
Minneapolis, MN : University of Minnesota Press, c1982-c1984. 2 volumes.
HQ1061 .R44 1982 (Main, 5th floor)

 Return to Main Menu
 
 

Sources for locating tests

These sources describe the tests and give purchase information for published and unpublished tests, surveys, scales, questionnaires, etc.  The section above Sources containing test instruments may also contain sources that include location information for tests.

Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
Michel Hersen and  Alan S. Bellack, editors.
New York : Pergamon Press, 1988
BF176.5 .D53 1988 (Main, 6th floor)

Directory of Psychological Tests in Sport and Exercise Sciences
Andrew C. Ostrow, editor.
Morgantown, WV: Fitness Information Technology, 1996. 2nd edition.
GV706.4 .D57 1996 (Main, 1st floor Reference) Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Bert A. Goldman and John L. Saunders.
New York: Human Sciences Press.  1974 -.
BF431.D4 (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3

ETS Test Collection
Online: http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html

An index to over 20,000 tests and other measurements from the early 1900's to the present. Many of these tests are available in the CMC ETS Tests in Microfiche collection. From the main page, click on the 'Find a Test' tab to search the database.

Family Assessment: A Guide to Methods and Measures
Harold D.Grotevant and Cindy I.  Carlson
New York : Guilford Press, 1989.
HQ518.G75 (Main, 5th floor)

Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
Carol Beere.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
HM253.B43 1990 (Main, 5th floor) Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
John Touliatos, editor.
Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1990
HQ728.T68  (Main, 5th floor) Handbook of Human Abilities: Definitions, Measurements and Job Task Requirements
Edwin A. Fleischman, Maureen E. Reilly.
Palo Alto, CA : Consulting Psychologists Press, 1992.
BF431.F48  (Main, 6th floor) Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Pittsburgh PA: Behavioral Measurement Database Services, 1992- .

Index to Tests Used in Educational Dissertations
Emily Fabiano.
Phoenix : Oryx Press, 1989.
LB3051.F3  (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)

Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Application
Ki-Taek Chun, Sidney Cobb, John R. P. French, Jr.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1975.
BF698.5 .C45 c.2   (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Highland Park, N.J. : The Mental Measurements Yearbook, 1941- .
Z5814.P8973  (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)

Psychware Sourcebook
Kansas City, Mo. : Test Corp. of America, c1987- . Annual.
BF176.2 .P77 (Main, 6th floor)

Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
Carol Beere.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990
BF692.B38 (Main, 6th floor) A Sourcebook for Mental Health Measures
Springfield, VA : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service, 1973.
RA790.C681270 1973b (Science Library, 4th floor)

Test Reviews Online
Online: http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp

Free information on over 4000 commercially available tests. Reviews for 2000 tests can be purchased at this site, however these reviews can also be found in print in Test Critiques or online in the GALILEO@UGA database Mental Measurements Yearbook (see entries below.)

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business
Taddy Maddox, editor.
Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1997.  4th ed.
BF176.T43 1997  (Main, 1st floor Reference, Index Table 3)

Tests and Measurements in Child Development: A Handbook
Orval G. Johnson.
San Francisco, Jossey-Bass, 1971.
BF722.J64 (Main, 1st floor Reference)

Tests and Measurements in Child Development: Handbook II
Orval G. Johnson.
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1976.
BF722.J643 (Main, 1st floor Reference)

Tests in Print V : An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
Linda L. Murphy, James C. Impara, and Barbara S. Plake.
Lincoln, NE : Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1999.
LB3051.T460 (Main, 1st floor Reference, Index Table 3)  Return to Main Menu
Sources for evaluating tests

In addition to the titles listed below, scholarly journal articles will also often review specific tests.  Consult the databases listed in the section below to find these articles.

Assessment in Gifted Education
Frances A. Karnes and Emily C. Collins
Springfield, IL: C.C. Thomas, 1981
LC3993.2.K37  (Main 2nd floor)

A Consumer's Guide to Tests in Print
Donald D. Hammill, Linda Brown and Brian R. Bryant.
Austin, TX: Pro-Ed., 1992.
LB3060.32 .N67 H36 1992   (Main Reference, Index Table 3) Evaluating Classroom Instruction: A Sourcebook of Instruments
Gary D. Borich
Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley Publishing Co., 1977.
LB2823.B67 (Main, 2nd floor) Evaluating Stress: A Book of Resources
Carlos P. Zalaquett and Richard J. Wood
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1997.  2 volumes.
RC455.4.S87 E83 1997 (Science Library, 4th floor) Guide to 75 Tests for Special Education
Compton, Carolyn.
Belmont, Calif. : Fearon Education, 1984.
LB1131 .C5416 1984 (Main, 2nd floor) Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Gary Groth-Marnat
New York: J. Wiley, 1997.
BF176 .G76 1997  (Main, 6th floor) The Handbook of Psychological Testing
Paul Kline.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1993.
BF176 .K575 1993   (Main, 6th floor) Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Pittsburgh PA: Behavioral Measurement Database Services, 1992- .
Instrumentation in Education: An Anthology
Lloyd Bishop
New York: Garland Publishing, 1993
BF39.B57 1993 (Main, 6th floor) Major Psychological Assessment Instruments
Charles S. Newmark, editor.
Boston : Allyn and Bacon, 1996. 2nd edition
 BF176 .M35 1996  (Main, 6th floor) Mental Measurements Yearbook
Highland Park, N.J. : The Mental Measurements Yearbook, 1941- .
Z5814.P8973  (Main, 1st floor reference, Index Table 3) Psychological Assessment in the Schools
James C. Impara and Linda L. Murphy, editors
Lincoln, Neb. : Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
BF722 .B8 1994 (Main,  1st floor reference, Index Table 3)
Provides reviews and location information for over 100 published instruments favored by child psychologists, culled from the Mental Measurements Yearbook series, 1965 -1992.  The reviews are reprinted from the MMY.
Review of Student Assessment Instruments and Practices in Use in Secondary/Transition Projects
Lizanne DeStefano
Champaign, IL: Secondary Transition Intervention Effectiveness Institute, University of Illinois, 1987.
HV1568.5.D470 1987  (Main, 5th floor) Review of Tests and Assessments in Early Education (3-5 Years)
Margaret Bate, Marjorie Smith and Jeannette James; revised by Jeannette James.
Windsor: NFER-Nelson, 1980.
Folio LB3051.B28 1980 (Main, 2nd floor) Socioemotional Measures for Preschool and Kindergarten Children
Deborah Klein Walker
San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1973.
LB1115.W22  (Main, 2nd floor) Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies
Nicola S. Schutte and John M. Malouff
New York: Plenum Press, 1995
RC473.P78 S38 1995 (Science, 4th floor) Special Education and Rehabilitation Testing: Practical Applications and Test Reviews
Brian Bolton, editor.
Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1988.
LC4019.S585 1988 (Main, 2nd floor) Test Critiques  1984-
Daniel J. Keyser, Richard C. Sweetland, general editors.
Kansas City, Mo. : Test Corporation of America, c1984-c1994. Annual.
BF176 .T418 (Main 1st floor reference, Index Table 3)  Return to Main Menu

Databases containing tests or test information

All the databases below can be searched by individual test name.  If you are searching for articles by topic, follow the suggested search strategies described for each of the databases.  Database searching by topic can be tricky.  If you have any questions or problems come to the reference desk, call the reference department at 706/542-3251 or email us.
 

Academic Search Premier
Coverage: 1984- (indexing and abstracts); 1990- (full text and images)
Updates daily.


Provides full text for over 1,200 journals covering education, social sciences, business, humanities, general science, and multi-cultural studies, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journalsUseful keyword search terms for tests in this database include psychological tests; educational tests and measurements and the term testing used in combination with other subject terms. You can restrict your search to scholarly journals by clicking in the 'peer reviewed' box at the bottom of the screen.  For example:

Dissertation Abstracts
Coverage:  1861 -.  Doctoral Abstracts, July 1980-.  Masters Abstracts, Spring 1988- .
Updates monthly.

Education Full Text
Coverage: Indexes, 1983 -.  Abstracts, 1994- . Full text, 1996- .
Updates: Weekly
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Coverage: 1966 to the present
Selected full text microfiche documents, 1993 - present
Updates quarterly
PsycINFO (at EBSCOhost)
Coverage: 1887 to the present
Updates: Monthly

Sociological Abstracts
Coverage: 1952 to present.
Updates monthly.

  Return to Main Menu The American Psychological Association: Testing and Assessment Consortium for Equity in Standards and Testing (CTEST) National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME)

PARE: Practical Assessment, Research & Evaluation

An online journal of refereed articles on assessment, research, evaluation, and teaching practice, especially at the local education agency (LEA) level. Can be searched by title, author, descriptors or keywords.

Return to Main Menu The Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education Code of Professional Responsibilities in Educational Measurement Competency Standards in Student Assessment for Educational Administrators Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment
Ian Stuart-Hamilton
London; Bristol, PA: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995
BF176.S78 1995 (Main, 1st floor Reference; Science, 2nd floor Reference) Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Marvin C. Alkin
New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1992.  4 vols.
LB15.E48 1992 (Main, 1st floor Reference) Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Gerald Goldstein and Michel Hersen, editors.
New York: Pergamon, 2000.
BF39.H2645 (Main, 1st floor Reference) Standards for Teacher Competence in Educational Assessment of Students Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing
American Psychological Association.
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 1999.
LB3051 .A693 1999 (Main, 1st floor Reference) Return to Main Menu


Last update: November 30, 2005
Comments to: ncohen@uga.edu
Copyright © University of Georgia. All rights reserved.
URL=http://www.libs.uga.edu/researchcentral/subjectguides/testsbib.html