Updated by John Prechtel, Data Librarian, February 28, 2007
guide covers some ways to access questionnaires for opinion polls and
social surveys. For information about finding educational and psychological
test instruments, see Finding Tests and Test Information in the UGA
1. Howard W. Odum Institute for Research in Social Science Public
Contents: Questions from the Louis Harris polls, the Carolina
Poll, and a few other poll series. Topics are fairly diverse and include
some regional (southern) focus. Covers 1960s forward.
Searching: Fielded Boolean searching with several limit filters.
How to find the questionnaire: Under each question in the hit
list you can click on Get all the questions. This produces
a page giving you the size of the questionnaire file you are about to
download/open. Proceed to download/open the file. These files can be
rather large, so before printing the entire questionnaire, you should
take note of how long it is.
2. ICPSR archive
Questionnaires, if they exist, are usually freely accessible. Users will
need to submit their email address during the process.
Contents: Several thousand studies ranging from opinion polls to
very complex longitudinal surveys contributed by survey research institutes,
academic researchers, news organizations, and government agencies. Some
international coverage. Subjects cover a wide array of social sciences,
especially political science and sociology. The questionnaire--if available--is
usually part of the documentation, a.k.a. "codebook". Most documentation
has now been digitized. A selective collection of printed ICPSR codebooks
is also available in the Main Reference room. There are also many ICPSR
codebooks in the general collection.
- Search the archive's
holdings by keyword/phrase in title, summary, author (principal investigator),
ICPSR study number. Advanced search allows some quasi-Boolean control.
- Browse by ICPSR
- A thesaurus provides
controlled subject and geographic name access to the studies, more detailed
than the ICPSR subjects.
How to find the questionnaire:
A. Identify a study of interest using the finding tools.
B. Click on the downloads link in the hit list or on the
description page. You will be prompted for an email address. You will
also be asked some additional questions which you may decline to answer.
C. At the Browse and Download page, scroll down a bit until
you get to a section with the header 'Machine-readable Codebooks and
Documentation - Freely Available'. Look for a file identified as the
questionnaire. If present, download/open it. If not present, then download/open
whatever documentation file is there. The files will either be pdf or
plain text format.
D. Once you have opened up a documentation file look for a questionnaire
section. If this doesnt work, look for a section called codebook.
Look in other sections if necessary. The questionnaire may be integrated
into other kinds of information. For some studies there may be no
database of poll questions (Roper Center)
UGA faculty, students, staff only. Accessible from campus IP addresses.
Contents: Questions from thousands of opinion polls on a wide
variety of topics. Includes Gallup Polls and others. Coverage is 1940s
to the present.
Searching: Simple keyword and phrase searching. A list of topics
is also available. Users can limit by organization or date as well as
How to find the questionnaire: When you find a question(s) of
interest, click view. Then click on the poll title. This will
produce what is called the Full Release Question List. Thats your
questionnaire for this poll. These lists are obviously not facsimiles
of what the pollsters used and they dont provide information on
skip patterns etc., but they include all the questions asked. To see
the responses you must click view by each question.
4. Government survey questionnaires:
From the more options search screen, set limits to Location:
"Government Documents Main" and then search on the keyword
"questionnaire" and other subject terms such as education
or health. Questionnaires are often included in the survey documentation
released by government agencies, and the term questionnaire may appear
in the catalog record.
2000 population and housing questionnaires at the Census Bureau
Frederick G. 200 years of U.S. census taking : population and housing
questions, 1790-1990. (J84: C 3.2:T 93 Main Ref, Census Collection)
Contains all census questionnaires and census schedules used in each
decennial census through 1990.
of Census forms (2nd floor Census Collection, Folio J84 C3.272:[various
Individual forms/questionnaires used in many different government sponsored
surveys conducted by the Census Bureau during the past couple of decades.
Unfortunately there is no index to these forms.