University of Georgia Libraries Research Central Home UGA Libraries' Home Sitemap Search

Business and Economics Research Databases at the UGA Libraries

 

The UGA Libraries provide access to many business and economics research databases via the Internet or CD-ROM.   Not included in the list are databases freely available on the Internet, for example, the Census Bureau website, and those subscribed to by the Terry College of Business.

 

The databases are arranged by twelve subjects.  Click on the subject to jump to a list of appropriate databases, with brief descriptions, dates of coverage, and access information.

Subject List

Articles, reports, and books

Country reports

Company directories

Economic data

Company financial data

Insurance & REIT company data

Company history

Marketing data

Company profiles

Stocks, bonds, options, and futures

Company reports

Trade data

 

 

For further details about these databases, contact John Campbell, Business & Economics Librarian, at 706-542-0396 or jcampbel@uga.edu

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Articles, reports, and books

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Business Source Complete

Articles from thousands of trade, practitioner, and academic journals.  Only database containing the text of articles from the Harvard Business Review, 1922+.

Varies

GALILEO Search now

Conference Board Online

Conference Board journals and research reports on business management functions.

1995-

GALILEO Search now

 

EconLit

Largest database covering economics research journals.

1969-

GALILEO Search now

Emerald Fulltext

Contains articles from 70 management and marketing research journals published by Emerald.

1994-

GALILEO Search now

Factiva

Text of articles from 1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal 1984+; and thousands of magazines and trade journals.  Also has Reuters news content.

Varies

GALILEO Search now

Historical Wall Street Journal

Images of all articles, stock quotes, and ads in the Wall Street Journal.  Does not cover the last 17 years  See the Factiva database for articles from those years.

1889-1990

GALILEO Search now

JSTOR

Text of many major business and economics journals from their inception.  Does not cover the last 3-5 years.

Varies, earliest 1886

GALILEO Search now

LexisNexis Academic

Text of many newspapers, magazines, business journals, law journals, and court cases.

Varies

GALILEO Search now

Making of the Modern World

Full text page images of over 61,000 historical works on economics and business contained in the Goldsmiths' Library ( University of London) and the Kress Library of Economic Literature (Harvard University).

1450-1850

GALILEO Search now

NBER Working Papers

10,000+ papers submitted to the National Bureau for Economic Research.

1970s-

GALILEO Search now

PsycInfo

Covers consumer, human factors, and organizational behavior research, in addition to psychology.

1887-

GALILEO Search now

ScienceDirect

Articles from many journals published by Elsevier, with strong business and economics coverage.  Backfile includes 59 economics and finance journals.

1995- backfile 1967-1994

GALILEO Search now

Web of Science

Extensive social science coverage 1956+ for research journals. Offers topical and cited reference searching (useful for promotion and tenure).

1956-

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Company directories

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database

Directory info on 1,600,000 U.S. companies. Search on geographic and industry criteria. Sort, rank, and download results.

Current

GALILEO Search now

ReferenceUSA

Directory info on 12 million U.S. businesses. Search on geographic and industry criteria.

Current

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Company financial data

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Compact Disclosure SEC

Data on 12,000+ publicly-held U.S. companies.  Many searchable data fields. (Ceased)

June 1990-July 2006

Main Library CD-ROM

 

Compact Disclosure Worldscope

Data on 17,000+ publicly-held companies in 50 countries.  Extensive comparative ratio analyses.  Many searchable data fields. (Ceased)

July 1991-June 2006

Main Library CD-ROM

 

Compustat (Base Subscription)

Financial data on 10,000+ publicly-held U.S. and Canadian companies.

1962-

WRDS account required

CRSP Compustat Merged Database

A database created by the matching of ID data from CRSP and Compustat that allows linking historically to companies, whether “alive or dead.”

1962-

WRDS account required

ExecuComp

Historical detailed executive compensation data for S&P 1500 companies.

1992-

WRDS account required

First Call Historical Database

Analysts’ earnings estimates.  Data on public company voluntary financial disclosures, sales, and earning forecasts, conference calls, etc.

1990-

WRDS account required

Mergent Online

Up to 15 years of “as-reported” financial statements for 30,000+ U.S. and foreign companies.

Rolling 15 years

GALILEO Search now

Thomson ONE Banker

Financial statement data, downloadable to Excel.

1993-

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Company history

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Hoover’s Online

Brief narrative history of major U.S. and foreign companies, both public and private.

Current

GALILEO Search now

Mergent Online

List of important corporate events for 30,000+ U.S. and foreign, publicly-held companies.

Current

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Company profiles

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Compact Disclosure SEC

Covers 12,000+ publicly-held U.S. companies.  Primarily financial.  Many searchable data fields. (Ceased)

June 1990-July 2006

Main Library CD-ROM

 

Compact Disclosure Worldscope

Covers 17,000+ publicly-held companies in 50 countries.  Primarily financial.  Extensive comparative ratio analyses.  Many searchable data fields. (Ceased)

July 1991-June 2006

Main Library CD-ROM

 

Hoover’s Online

Profiles of major U.S. and foreign companies, both public and private.

Current

GALILEO Search now

LexisNexis Academic

The Business section contains a Company Dossier module that gathers together directory, financial, and legal information, as well as news, about many public and private companies, U.S. and foreign.

Current

GALILEO Search now

Mergent Online

Covers 30,000 U.S. and foreign companies.  Primarily financial.

Current

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Company reports

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

LaserDisclosure

CD-ROM collection of U.S. annual reports and SEC filings (10-K, 8-K, Proxy, and registration statements).  Foreign company annual reports.

1988-2002

Main Reference CD-ROM

Thomson ONE Banker

Enhanced access to annual reports and SEC filings (10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, Proxy, etc.) of U.S. companies.  Foreign company annual reports.

1993-

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Country reports

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Country Reports & Country Profiles

Extensive quarterly and annual economic and political overviews of almost 200 countries.

1996-

GALILEO Search now

SourceOECD

In-depth economic surveys of OECD countries.

1998-

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Economic data

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Business Cycle Indicators

Extensive time series for major U.S. economic indicators.

Varies, earliest 1945

GALILEO Search now

Global Insight Historical Data

Extensive time series for U.S. and foreign countries.  Stock market indices and IMF monetary data.

Varies, earliest 1900

GALILEO Search now


and


WRDS account required

Historical Statistics of the United States

Over 37,000 historical data series covering population, the economy, social conditions, health, and governance.  Data can be downloaded in Excel and CSV formats.

18th-20th centuries

GALILEO Search now

International Financial Statistics (IMF)

Extensive time series, primarily monetary, on IMF member countries.

Varies, earliest 1945

Main Reference CD-ROM

LexisNexis Statistical

In-depth indexing of thousands of statistical publications, both governmental and commercial.  Over 100,000 statistical tables.

Varies, earliest 1973

GALILEO Search now

SourceOECD

Extensive economic, industry, and trade data for OECD countries.

Varies, earliest 1960

GALILEO Search now

World Development Indicators

Over 500 economic and social time series for World Bank member countries.

Varies, earliest 1960

Main Reference CD-ROM

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Insurance & REIT company data

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

Best’s Insurance Reports

Ratings and financial data on property/casualty and life/health companies.

2004-

Main Reference CD-ROM

Morningstar Variable Annuities/Life

Detailed performance data on annuities.

2000-

Main Reference CD-ROM

NAIC InfoPro Financial

Financial data on 3,500 public and private insurance companies.

2004-

Main Reference CD-ROM &

Terry College

SNL DataSource REIT

Financial and property holdings data on publicly-held and private REITs.

1990-

Main Reference dedicated workstation

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Marketing data

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

IRI Marketing Fact Book

Sales and purchasing behavior data on brands of consumer-packaged goods.

2004-

Main Reference CD-ROM

MRI University Internet Reporter

Data on product buying behavior and media habits of 27,000 adults.  Register at www.mriplus.com   Requires UGA e-mail account.

2004-

Internet

Mintel Reports

In-depth market research reports on a broad range of consumer products and financial services.

2001-

GALILEO Search now

Productscan Online

Detailed descriptions and images of over 500,000 new products introduced worldwide.

1980-

GALILEO Search now

Simmons Study of Media & Markets

Data on product buying behavior and media habits of 20,000+ adults.

3 year time lag

Main Reference CD-ROM

Sports Business Research Network

Market research data from the National Sporting Goods Association.  Full text of 14 sporting goods trade journals and newsletters.

1993-

GALILEO Search now

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Stocks, bonds, options, and futures

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

CRSP

Daily prices of U.S. stocks; monthly prices of U.S. Treasury securities

1925-

WRDS account required

CRSP Compustat Merged Database

A database created by the matching of ID data from CRSP and Compustat that allows linking historically to companies, whether “alive or dead.”

1962-

WRDS account required

Datastream

Futures, options, foreign stock prices, and bond prices (foreign and U.S.).  Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual frequencies.

Varies,

earliest 1965

Main Reference dedicated workstation &

Terry College

Mergent Online

Describes securities issued by publicly-held U.S. and foreign companies.  One-page stock reports.  Stock comparison tool.

Current

GALILEO Search now

Morningstar

Mutual fund performance data.  Multi-page stocks reports.  (No off campus access.)

Current

GALILEO Search now

OptionMetrics Ivy DB

Daily option prices and volatility measures for U.S. stocks and indices.

1996-

WRDS account required

Thomson Financial Ownership Data

Data on institutional (13f), insider, and mutual find stock ownership.

1980-

WRDS account required

 

Back to Subject List

 

 

Trade data

 

Database name/ Description

Covers

How accessed

SourceOECD

Data on the trade of 35 OECD countries with their trading partners

Varies

GALILEO Search now

World Trade Analyzer

Data on 180 countries and 800 commodities.

15-20 years

Main Reference CD-ROM

 

Back to Subject List

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Access Notes

 

GALILEO Search now = GALILEO databases available to UGA faculty, students, and staff on and off campus (unless otherwise noted)Off-campus access requires a password.   To obtain the most current password, UGA faculty, students, and staff should go to http://gil.uga.edu and select the “Get GALILEO password” option.

 

WRDS account required = Wharton Research Data Services.  Use of these databases is restricted to UGA faculty and graduate students.  A username and password are required.  Create an account at http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/

 

Main Reference CD-ROM = A CD-ROM database on a workstation in the Main Library Reference Room.  These databases cannot be accessed on the Internet.

 

Main Reference dedicated workstation = Dedicated Data Services workstations in the Main Library Reference Room.  Use of these databases restricted to UGA faculty, students, and staff.

 

Main Library CD-ROM = A CD-ROM database available on discs at the Main Library Circulation Desk.   Discs can be checked out of the library for a limited period. These databases cannot be accessed on the Internet.

 



Comments to: libweb@uga.edu
Copyright © University of Georgia. All rights reserved.