BRITISH PARLIAMENTARY PAPERS
and Other British Government Documents



Note 1: In this guide items known to be missing before the fire of July 2003 are so indicated. Items believed to be temporarily unavailable due to post-fire processing (scattered debates, journals, etc.) or destroyed in the fire (mainly fiche) have not been systematically indicated in this guide.
Note 2: Abbreviations:
MAGIL = Map and Government Information Library in the subbasement of the Main Library.
SCL = Special Collections Libraries
Contact John Prechtel (prechtel@uga.edu) if you have questions about specific items missing from the shelves.


INTRODUCTION

This guide is intended to provide scholars with a listing of the primary collections of British Parliamentary Papers and reference sources relative to parliamentary research available at the University of Georgia. The guide also contains a section covering other British government documents falling outside the scope of the Parliamentary Papers. This guide should not be regarded as comprehensive.

Researching British Parliamentary papers and other British documents is not always a straightforward task. The papers are grouped in a variety of sets and series ("collections"), the arrangement of which vary. Some collections are in print format, while other collections are in a variety of micro-formats or online. Some of the collections overlap as to content. Lastly, indexes vary in much the same way as the collections. Researchers should budget both time and patience when working with the Parliamentary Papers. If you need assistance, please inquire at the Main Library Reference desk.

We have organized the contents of this guide by category of document. For each category there is a brief description of the sort of documents comprising that category. After the descriptive matter there follows a listing of individual collections or sources and indexes. The category Command Papers also includes specific guidance on searching.

Credits:

This guide has been adapted principally from:

British Parliamentary Papers and Other Government Publications (Duke University)(no longer available)
http://www.lib.duke.edu/reference/subjects/Parliam.html

with additional material from:

British Parliamentary Papers (Emory University)
http://info.library.emory.edu/Ref/csguides/bp/index.html (no longer available)
Government Publications - Great Britain Selected Reference Materials (Columbia - Butler Library)
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/butlref/gbdoc.html


ROLLS OF PARLIAMENT

The earliest records of parliament, up to the sixteenth century, are known as the Rolls of Parliament. University of Georgia Libraries has the following:

Great Britain. Parliament. Rotuli Parliamentorum; ut et Petitiones, et Placita in Parliamento.
Making of the Modern World (GALILEO) http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=mako-uga1; MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .H12); also Basement (Film HC10 .G655 no.10277.6).

This set covers the reigns of Edward I through Henry VII (1278-1503) and includes an index.


MODERN PARLIAMENTARY PAPERS

The ordinary use of the term Parliamentary Papers refers to the following categories of material although in some instances the term refers specifically to the second category only:


JOURNALS

The Journals present the official account of the proceedings of Parliament, including the records of motions passed, suspended, amended or withdrawn; the record of papers laid before each House; and lists of members appointed to committees, etc. Some years, main arguments of speeches given in Parliament are included. Journals are especially useful for the period prior to the 19th century when there were no official records of debates.

University of Georgia has the following Journals:

House of Commons

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Journals of the House of Commons, vols. 1-113 (1640s-1858/59; indexing 1547-).
MAGIL, compact shelving (folio J301 .K3).

Cumulative indexes are interfiled with the Journals. Cumulative indexes covering 1547 through 1890 are also available on microprint and shelved before: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61). Beginning with volume 30 of the Journals (1765) sessional indexes are also available, usually in the final volume of the session. Indexing of the Journals is also provided in Hansard's Catalogue of Parliamentary Reports...1696-1834, MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.1).


House of Lords

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. Journals, vols. 5-89 (1642/43-1857).
MAGIL, compact shelving (folio J301 .J3). Some volumes are missing (e.g., 31 & 32 covering 1764/5 - 1769/70)

This set includes one cumulative index covering volumes 20-35 (1714-79). A Calendar of Journals (J301 .J4) is shelved at the end of the set and contains a brief subject ("heads") index covering 1509-1857. In addition, each volume starting with volume 53 (1820) includes its own sessional index.


VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Votes are compiled from minute books kept by the Clerk of the House. Most of the contents of the Votes appear later in the Journals, Sessional Papers or Hansard (debates).

Voting records of the British House of Commons, 1761-1820 Hambledon Press, 1995.
6th floor (JN673 .V68 1995).

v. 1. Handlist and sources. -- v. 2. Biographical listings A-F. -- v. 3. Biographical listings G-O. -- v. 4. Biographical listings P-Z. v. 5. Divisions 1761-1809. -- v. 6. Divisions 1810-1820.


DEBATES

Reporting of early parliamentary debates was punished by fines and imprisonment, and the clerks who took notes of them, in compiling the Journals, were ordered to discontinue the practice. The earliest continuous reports of contemporary debates are Anchitell Grey's Debates of the House of Commons, from the year 1667 to the year 1694. The volumes comprising this set can be searched and read in The Making of the Modern World in GALILEO. (A microcard copy of this set is also in MAGIL, microfiche cabinets MFC J301 .H8 1763.) Debates from 1803 to present are often referred to as "Hansard" after the name of the firm which compiled and published them for the greater part of the 19th century. They are now published by The Stationery Office (formerly Her Majesty's Stationery Office or HMSO) and come to the library in bound volumes two or three years after each session. Until 1909 publication of the Debates was unofficial and they were not verbatim records but often based on newspaper accounts.

Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England. London, 1751-1762. 24 volumes.
SCL, Hargrett 18th Century collection (JN117 .H178).

Often cited as the Old Parliamentary History, these volumes, covering 1066 to 1660, contain material about the contents of debates compiled from the Journals and other sources. Volume 24 is a general index to the other 23 volumes.


The Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803. London, 36 volumes.
MAGIL, closed stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-6/7 [Ser. 0]). A second copy is on the 6th floor (JN505 .C654).

Known as Cobbett's, the first 12 volumes were compiled by William Cobbett. T.C. Hansard completed the set. The set covers the period 1066 to 1803 and was compiled from official (Journal of the House of Commons) and unofficial (diaries, etc.) records. While extensive, Cobbett is not always definitive and may lack significant source material. Researchers may wish to check a number of the sources listed in his Preface. The arrangement is chronological. There is a fairly detailed table of contents which is helpful but the set is not indexed.


Great Britain. Parliament. Parliamentary Debates (Hansard), 1803-1908.
MAGIL, closed stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-6/7 [Ser.1 through Ser.4]).

1803-1820 (first series)
1820-1830 (second series)
1830-1891 (third series)
1891-1908 (fourth series)
Note: The series above contain the debates of both the House of Lords and the House of Commons.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Parliamentary Debates, 1909-present.
MAGIL, open & closed stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-6).

1909-1980 (fifth series) MAGIL, closed stacks
1980-present (sixth series) MAGIL, open stacks


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. Parliamentary Debates, 1909-present.
MAGIL, open stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-7).

Great Britain. Parliament. Hansard - House of Commons and House of Lords Debates
http://www.parliament.uk/hansard/hansard.cfm

House of Commons debates cover 1988/89 to present. House of Lords debates cover 1994 to present.


Indexes and Bibliographies:

General Index to the First and Second Series of Hansard's Parliamentary Debates...1803 to 1830.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .H25 G4 1970z).

Volume / Sessional indexes

Each volume of the first and second series (1803 - 1829/30) includes its own index. From 1830/31 - present each session is indexed. This index is sometimes bound at the end of the last volume of the session or sometimes bound separately. Indexing is by speaker and by subject. Hansard's is numbered by columns, not by pages. Also, pages for the oral debate and the pages for answers to written questions are numbered separately; the index placing a "w" after written answers.


United Kingdom Hansard
http://www.parliament.uk/hansard/hansard.cfm

Provides indexes to bound volumes of debates (Commons from November 1999; Lords from December 2000).


A Bibliography of Parliamentary Debates of Great Britain.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G7).

A detailed guide to the sources that have recorded Parliamentary Debates from 1066 to 1955.



SESSIONAL PAPERS

Sessional Papers are papers presented to Parliament. Before 1921 almost all important government documents were presented to Parliament for their consideration. Beginning in 1921, only documents considered directly relevant to impending legislation have been presented.

Sessional papers include the following document types:

  1. Public bills, arranged by title. (Private bills relating to local or personal legislation, e.g., divorce, are not part of the Sessional Papers.)
  2. Reports of committees of Parliament, arranged alphabetically by subject or name of committee.
  3. Reports of Royal Commissions and other groups doing research of interest to Parliament.
  4. Accounts and papers (all publications not in the first three categories. Included are treaties, international agreements, financial and statistical reports, papers on defense, etc.).

Many papers in groups 3 and 4 are Command Papers, so-called because they are presented to Parliament by "royal command" rather than as a result of an Act of Parliament. Each sessional paper bears a number, printed in the lower lefthand corner of the title page. All papers except Command Papers begin a new series of numbers each session. University of Georgia Libraries's collection of Sessional Papers is described below. Command Papers are treated separately.

House of Commons

NOTE: Between 1541 and 1730, it is often necessary to rely on the Journals (described above) for reports of committees and government departments. These publications are indexed in the Journals under the headings "Printing" and "Reports of Committees."

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Reports from Committees of the House of Commons which have been printed by order of the House and not inserted in the Journals (1715-1801)...16 volumes.
MAGIL, compact shelving (folio J301 .K5).

This set is also known as the "first series". Volume 1 is the index. For a description see Ford's Guide to Parliamentary Papers, p. 22.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. House of Commons Sessional Papers of the eighteenth Century,(1715/29-1799/1800) Scholarly Resources. 147 volumes.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .K265).

The Library has the complete set. This set, which was compiled and edited by Sheila Lambert, includes some items not available in the the 16 volume set listed above. Arrangement is by topic rather than strictly chronological. Two volumes, Introduction & List, provide indexing to the set.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation.
MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).

The Library has 1731-1978/79. The volume numbering corresponds to the official bound volume set. The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV


Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2).

This set contains approximately1000 volumes covering the period 1800-1900. Arrangement is by topic rather than by year. Some papers are included which are not in the microprint volumes owned by the library. The index for this set is the Checklist of British parliamentary papers... described below.


Irish University Press Area Studies Series, British Parliamentary Papers.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301. R22 et seq.).

The University of Georgia Libraries holdings include multi-volume sets of selected papers, primarily from the 19th century, covering the United States, Central and South America (vol. 41: Venezuela only), China, Japan, and Russia (vol. 7 only).


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. [Parliamentary Papers].
MAGIL, open stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-2).

Library has unbound parliamentary papers from the House of Commons covering 1967/68 through 1982. This collection may not be complete. The unbound papers lack the page-numbering and sessional indexes of the official bound volumes.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Papers, 1979-80-present.
MAGIL, British microfiche cabinets, call numbers as listed below.

House of Commons Publications on the Internet.
http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/commons/

This site includes debates, 1988-present. Other series such as committee reports offer more limited years of coverage.


Indexes

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Introduction and List of Papers (volumes 1 and 2 of: House of Commons Sessional Papers of the 18th Century, Scholarly Resources).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .K265).

Volume one covers 1715-1760 and volume two covers 1761-1800.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate of Parliamentary Papers, 1696-1834.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .K62 1953).

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Catalogue of Papers Printed by Order of the House of Commons from the Year 1731 to 1800.(Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.1.

For the period 1731-1800 this index contains somewhat more detail than Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate of Parliamentary Papers, 1696-1834. This index is also available in the Readex microprint set of British Sessional Papers in the third box from the beginning partially entitled "Catalogue and Index 1731-1800".


Irish University Press.Checklist of British parliamentary papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series, 1801-1899.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .R212, index area).

This is usually the best index to use with the 1000 volume IUP set. Is some cases it may be necessary to use a more detailed subject index to first identify a paper on your topic and then trace the paper's location in the IUP using the Checklist.


Cockton, Peter. Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900. Chadwyck-Healey.
MAGIL, index area (DA530 .C620 1988, index area).

This five volume set gives comprehensive listings by subject of the entire output of nineteenth century Parliamentary papers. The set covers bills, statistical series, and annual reports as well as policy documents. The session dates and volume numbers used in the index may be used to locate the paper in British Sessional Papers. [Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61)].


NOTE: In any General... and Sessional Indexes to the House of Commons Sessional Papers listed below the page number refers to the page number of the official House of Commons library volumes. The microprint set, British Sessional Papers, utilizes these page numbers.

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Reports of Select Committees...1801-1852. (Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.2).

This index is also available in the Readex microprint set of British Sessional Papers in the index box entitled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".


*missing. Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Accounts and Papers, Reports, Reports of Commissioners, Estimates, etc., printed by order of the House of Commons, or presented by command, 1801-1852. (Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index V.3. Another copy is available at J301 .M3).

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Bills...1801-1852.
[In: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61). Look in the index box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".]

*vols. 4 & 5 missing. Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. General Index to the Bills, Reports, Estimates, Accounts and Papers...1852-1899. (Reprint, Irish University Press).
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .R2 Index Vols.4-8).

This index is also available in: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation, MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61). Look in the index box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900".


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Indexes, 1801-1978/79.
[In: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation. MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).]

For the period 1801-1900 look in the index boxes labeled "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1801-1862" and "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1863-1900". A few years missing from these are in the box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900". The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV

For the period 1901-1978/79 the index is generally the last volume of each session's set of volumes. Some years the sessional index will be in the last volume of the section labelled Accounts and Papers. A decennial index covering 1950-1959 is in volume XXXIX of the session for 1962/63.


Ford, Percy Select List of British Parliamentary Papers, 1833-1899.
MAGIL, index area (J301 .M3 1969, index area).


House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, CD-ROM Index, 1991/92 session - present. [Chadwyck-Healey]
MAGIL


House of Lords

NOTE:Between 1541 and 1730, it is often necessary to rely on the Journals (described above) for reports of committees or government departments. These publications are indexed in the Journals under the headings "Printing" and "Reports of Committees."

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. Sessional Papers. 1714-1805 in 60 volumes.
MAGIL, compact shelving (J301 .J6).

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. Sessional Papers. 1806-1859 in 559 microfilm reels.
MAGIL, microfilm cabinets (J301 .J6).

A printed reel guide and checklist of papers (J 301.J6 Guide) is shelved in MAGIL, index area.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. [Parliamentary Papers].
MAGIL, open stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-4).

This collection includes unbound papers from 1906/07 to present, with the majority falling in the period 1967/68 to present.


House of Lords Publications on the Internet.
http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld/ldpubns.htm

This site provides Debates, 1994 to present. Other series at the site offer more limited years of coverage.


Indexes

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. A General Index to the Sessional Papers, printed by order of the House of Lords. 5 volumes.
MAGIL, closed stacks (J301 .J62 Index).

These volumes are cumulative indexes for 1714-1885.


Ford, Percy Select List of British Parliamentary Papers, 1833-1899.
MAGIL, index area (J 301 .M3 1969).

The Sale Catalogues of British Government Publications, 1836-1921 (reprint in 4 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G85 1975).

Catalogues and Indexes of British Government Publications, 1920-1970 (reprint in 5 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G82220).

Great Britain. Stationery Office. Government Publications, 1966- . Annual cumulation with monthly issues.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G822). [Title changed to Annual Catalogue with 1985.]

Cumulative Index to the Annual Catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office Publications, 1922-1972 (2 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G7 .B50).


COMMAND PAPERS

Command Papers comprise a distinct category of Sessional Papers. They are documents which are not originated by Parliament but are presented to Parliament "by command of His/Her Majesty" (actually, by the ministers of the Government). Those command papers which are statements of government policy are often called "white papers". Other command papers relay information possessed by the Government to Parliament and are often reports of a study or program, or a proposal for Parliament's consideration. Command papers include reports of royal commissions and departmental committees, policy papers, the Treaty series and other state papers. In earlier years they were unnumbered and usually printed in, or as appendices to the Journal of the House of Commons. But since 1833 they have been published as part of the Parliamentary papers with a separate numbering system that is not tied to a year or a session. To see a listing of gaps in the official numbering sequence of Command Papers (1870-1899) as well as a brief list of Command Papers absent from House of Commons Papers but present in Lords Papers, see A checklist of the British Parliamentary Papers (bound set), 1801-1950 (K.A.C. Parsons. 1958. Z2009 .P30 MAGIL, index area).

Command Papers are numbered consecutively, theoretically to 9999, in series as follows:

All Command Papers except those in the first series (1833-1869) have their numbers printed on the title pages in the lower left-hand corner.

Collections:

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation.
MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).

The Library has 1731-1978/79. The volume numbering corresponds to the official bound volume set. The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. [Command papers.]
MAGIL, open stacks (Gt. Brit. 10-1).

These are unbound papers filed in numerical order based on the chronological labeling scheme listed above. University of Georgia Libraries holdings cover 1919 - 1984 with the majority of the collection corresponding to the period 1968-1982.


Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Papers, 1979-80-present.
MAGIL, British microfiche cabinets, call numbers as listed below.

The Stationery Office. Official Documents.
http://www.official-documents.co.uk/index.html

Coverage of Command Papers is 2002 to present. Other documents are also available from 1994.


Indexes:

If the date of a command paper is known but not its number...

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Sessional Indexes, 1801-1978/79.
[In: British Sessional Papers. Readex Corporation
MAGIL, closed stacks (MCP J301 .K61).]

The Sessional Indexes will allow you for the period 1833-1978/79 to identify the correct volume and page or command paper number with which to look for the paper in the collection that corresponds to its date.

For the period 1801-1900 look in the index boxes labeled "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1801-1862" and "Collection of Indexes General Annual 1863-1900". A few years missing from these are in the box labeled "Collection of Indexes 1696-1900". The following boxes contain some fire-damaged microprints: 1801-1802, Vols. I-VII; 1857-1858, Vol. XLI; 1863-1900, Collection of Indexes General Annual ; 1884, Vols. I-XXIV

For the period 1901-1978/79 the index is generally the last volume of each session's set of volumes. Some years the sessional index will be in the last volume of the section labelled Accounts and Papers. A decennial index covering 1950-1959 is in volume XXXIX of the session for 1962/63.


Great Britain. Stationery Office. Government Publications, 1966- . Annual cumulation with monthly issues. (Title changed to Annual Catalogue with 1985.)
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G822).

For the period 1966 to present this source provides annual listings of Command Papers. Be prepared to check several annual catalogs later than the date of the paper.


House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, CD-ROM Index, 1991/92 session - present. [Chadwyck-Healey]
MAGIL.


If only the command paper number is known...

For the period 1980 to present, go directly to the Sessional Papers on microfiche.

For the period 1919-1979, try going directly to the unbound Command Papers in the stacks.

For the period 1833-1977:

DiRoma, Edward. Numerical Finding List of British Command Papers Published 1833-1961/62 or Elizabeth MacBride's supplement to 1976/77.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .D5).


If neither the date nor the command paper number is known...

For the 19th century, use one or more of the various General Indexes... (See NOTE et seq. under Sessional Papers - House of Commons - Indexes.)

The Sale Catalogues of British Government Publications, 1836-1921 (reprint in 4 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G85 1975).

Catalogues and Indexes of British Government Publications, 1920-1970 (reprint in 5 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G82220).

Great Britain. Stationery Office. Government Publications, 1966- . Annual cumulation with monthly issues. [Title changed to Annual Catalogue with 1985.]
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G822).

Cumulative Index to the Annual Catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office Publications, 1922-1972 (2 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G7 .B50).

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, CD-ROM Index, 1991/92 session - present. [Chadwyck-Healey]
MAGIL.


A note about public petitions

Many were destroyed in 1834 when the old Parliament building burned down. In addition, originals were routinely destroyed up until about 1951 after consideration by Parliament. The relatively few surviving printed copies of public petitions from this period are preserved in the Parliamentary Archives in London (and possibly a few other libraries in microformat). The text of a very few public petitions may also be preserved in the context of other sets of British documents such as the sessional papers. For more information about public petitions see http://www.parliament.uk/documents/commons-information-office/P07.pdf


ACTS / STATUTES

Statutes at Large [1225 to 1868]
Law Library (KD129 .G74).

Cites to this set are by regnal year which requires a good knowledge of the history of the British royalty or a chart showing the regnal years.


The Public General Statutes : With a List of the Local and Private Acts Passed in the ... Years of the Reign of ... : Being the ... Session of the ... Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland [1866 to present with title changes in 1926 and again in 1972]
Law Library (KD135 .L3).

This set is published each calendar year by Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO). This set is equivalent to Statutes at Large of the United States in that it publishes the text of the laws in chronological order.


Acts of the UK Parliament
http://www.legislation.hmso.gov.uk/acts.htm

This site provides the full-text of Public General Acts from 1801 to the present. Earlier years may be incomplete.


MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

Registers

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Members of Parliament, 1878 (3 volumes).
6th floor (JN672 .A5 1878).

Part 1 covers the Parliaments of England, 1213- 1702. Part 2 covers the Parliaments of Great Britain, 1705- 1790, Parliaments of the UK, 1810- 1874, and parliaments for Scotland, 1357-1707, and for Ireland, 1559-1800. Chronological lists of M.P's including residence, constituencies and dates of return are also given. The index includes a listing of M.P's for the parliament of 1880-1885.


Dictionaries and Directories

Dod's Parliamentary Companion. London, 1832- .
Latest in Main Ref (JN500 .D6).

The Library has various years from 1961 to present in print; most years 1833-1909 on microcard (basement); 16 years between 1843 and 1891 on microfilm (basement).


Dictionary of National Biography.
Main 4th floor (DA28 .D47).

This is the standard biographical dictionary of deceased Britons of note.


Who's Who.
Latest in Main Ref (DA28 .W627).

The Library has 1898 to date with gaps.


Who was Who. 1897-.
Main Ref (DA28 .W628).

This is a companion to Who's Who, containing biographies of those who died.


The Times Guide to the House of Commons.
Latest in Main Ref (JN672 .T6).

This source includes results of the polling, biographies of members and unsuccessful candidates, photographs of all members, and a complete analysis, statistical tables and a map of the General Election. Library has volumes covering many elections from 1970 to 2005.


Fryde, E. B., et al. Handbook of British Chronology.
4th floor (DA34 .P6 1986).

Lists principal office-holders and rulers from England's settlement to 1985. Also has a comprehensive list of English and British parliaments including dates and assembly places.


Judd, Gerrit P. Members of Parliament, 1734-1832.
6th floor (JN672 .J9).

A statistical study of M.P.'s showing economic and social status, educational and professional data, length of service, etc., with a "checklist of members" which gives citations to sources such as University alumni registers, DNB, etc.


See also: Voting records of the House of Commons,1760-1820


HISTORIES OF PARLIAMENT AND REFERENCE WORKS

The titles below (excepting Cook, Wilding, and Wedgewood) were published under the auspices of The History of Parliament Trust. Each volume in this series includes a survey of the politics of the period, a bibliography of sources, dates of parliaments, statistics, and biographical sketches of MPs.

Cook, Chris. Longman Companion to Britain in the Nineteenth Century, 1815-1914.
Main Ref (DA530 .C8 1999).

Wilding, Norman and Laundy, Philip. An encyclopaedia of Parliament. 4th ed., 1971.
Main Ref (JN555 .W5 1971b).

Wedgwood, Josiah C. History of Parliament...1439-1509. 2 vol.
Repository (JN508 .W392).

Bindoff, S.T. The House of Commons 1509-1558. 3 vol.
6th floor (JN673 .B56 1982).

Hasler, P.W. The House of Commons 1558-1603. 3 vol.
6th floor (JN673 .H68 1981).

Henning, Basil D. The House of Commons 1660-1690. 3 vol.
6th floor (JN673 .H6840 1983).

Sedgwick, Romney. The House of Commons, 1715-1754, the History of Parliament. 2 vol.
6th floor (JN675 1715 .S4).

Namier, Lewis B. The House of Commons, 1754-1790. 3 vol.
6th floor (JN672 .N2).

Thorne, R.G. The House of Commons 1790-1820. 5 vol.
6th floor (JN673 .T4860 1986).


OTHER BRITISH GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Until 1921 most important documents were presented to Parliament and thus included in the Sessional Papers. Since 1921 only papers expected to be relevant to impending legislation have been included, thus eliminating from the Sessional Papers many supplementary documents merely associated with legislation. In all periods certain other documents would likely be excluded from the Sessional Papers as well. These include minutes and records of Royal advisory bodies, as well as documents of an administrative or local nature. In general non-parliamentary British government documents must be sought in catalogs and other sources outside of the system of Sessional Papers.

Collections

Libraries' General Collection

Many British government publications are contained in the University of Georgia Libraries' print and microformat collections. Find these British documents by searching GIL. Examples include:

Calendar ... (Abstracts) of the Public Record Office.
4th floor or basement depending on format (DA25... ) Complete title and call number varies.

The Calendars are books containing listings with abstracts of documents in the keeping of the Public Record Office. In many cases the abstracts provide extensive information taken from the original document. Individual volumes and groups of volumes cover distinct types of documents (state papers, patent rolls, probate records, etc.) from a particular reign or time period. The Calendars as a whole encompass the late Middle Ages through the 18th century. Search for these sources in GIL using advanced search mode. Try searching by title keyword "calendar" and the author phrase "public record office". The Libraries' holdings of Calendars include both print and microcard formats.

Annual Abstract of Statistics.
Latest in Main Ref (HA1122 .A3).

British and Foreign State Papers (1812/14 to 1967/68).
6th floor (JX103 .A3).

Great Britain. Privy Council. Acts of the Privy Council of England, 1542-1628. (microcards)
MAGIL, microfiche cabinets (MCD J301 .N54).

Great Britain. Privy Council. Acts of the Privy Council of England : colonial series, 1613-1783.
Basement, microcard area (MCD DA25 .L3).

*(Reel 1 missing) Great Britain. Cabinet Office. Imperial Conferences, 1917-1937. (6 reels)
MAGIL, microfilm cabinets (FILM J301 .R15)

Great Britain. Cabinet Office. [minutes and conclusions (with indexes) of the war cabinet and cabinet, 1916-1939]. (60 reels)
MAGIL, microfilm cabinets (FILM J301 .R152)

Great Britain. Cabinet Office. Cabinet Reports from Prime Ministers to the Crown, 1868-1916. (13 reels)
MAGIL, microfilm cabinets ([FILM] J301 .C320).


The Stationery Office. Official Documents.
http://www.official-documents.co.uk/index.html

Includes selected British documents starting with 1951/52.


Catalogs, abstracts, and finding aids

GIL, the Libraries' online catalog.
http://gil.uga.edu/

Do an advanced search for subjects, titles, or keywords and the author, Great Britain.

Great Britain. Stationery Office. Government Publications, 1966- . Annual cumulation with monthly issues. Title changed to Annual Catalogue with 1985.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G822).

Cumulative Index to the Annual Catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office Publications, 1922-1972 (2 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G7 .B50).

Catalogues and Indexes of British Government Publications, 1920-1970 (reprint in 5 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G82220).

Beware the tiny print!


The Sale Catalogues of British Government Publications, 1836-1921 (reprint in 4 volumes).
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .G85 1975).

Beware the tiny print!


Morgan, A. Mary. British Government Publications; an index to chairmen and authors, 1941-1966.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .M64 1973).

Richard, Stephen. Directory of British Official Publications; a guide to sources.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .R533 1984).

Catalogue of British Official Publications not Published by HMSO. [Chadwyck-Healey] Annual, 1980-2000.
2nd floor, general stacks (FOLIO Z2009 .C37).

Great Britain. Stationery Office. British National Archives. (Government Publications Sectional List No. 24)
2nd floor, general stacks (Z2009 .G84A12 no. 24 1984)

This pamphlet contains extensive listings of the publications of the Public Record Office. The listings include the various Calendars as well as reports, registers, and other sets of records in the British National Archives that have been published in print or on microfilm.


Finding aids for Commission Reports and Related Papers

Great Britain. Stationery Office. Royal Commissions, 1937-1983. (Government Publications Sectional List No. 59)
2nd floor, general stacks (Z2009 .G84 A12 no. 59).

Pemberton, John E. British Official Publications. 2d ed. rev.
2nd floor, general stacks (Z2009 .P45 1973).

See pages 76-86 for an alphabetical list of Royal Commissions, 1900-1972. [Or see pages 73-86 in 1st edition in MAGIL, index area.]


Finding aids for Foreign Affairs

Parry, Clive. An index of British treaties, 1101-1968.
Main Ref (JX636 1892 Index 1101-1968).

This is a comprehensive index to British treaties covering not only the contents of the Treaty Series of the Sessional Papers but also the contents of numerous other sources.


Temperley, Harold. A Century of Diplomatic Blue Books, 1814-1914. (1966 reprint of the 1938 title).
Main Ref, index table 7b (Z2009 .T28 1966a).

Vogel, Robert. A Breviate of British Diplomatic Blue Books, 1919-1939.
2nd floor, general stacks (Z2009 .V8).


BIBLIOGRAPHY

Bond, Maurice F. Guide to the Records of Parliament.
2nd floor, general stacks (CD1063 .B63).

This source is especially useful for information about the House of Lords.


Ford, P. and Ford. G A Guide to Parliamentary Papers. 3d ed.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .A1 F6 1972).

This gives a fine explanation of all kinds of Parliamentary Papers.


Pemberton, John E. British Official Publications. 2d ed.
2nd floor, general stacks (Z2009 .P45 1973). (1st ed. is in MAGIL, index area.)

Rodgers, Frank. A Guide to British Government Publications.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .R62).

This source provides a comprehensive guide.


Rodgers, Frank. Serial Publications in the British Parliamentary Papers, 1900-1968; a bibliography.
MAGIL, index area (Z2009 .R63).



prepared by John Prechtel, Main Reference