University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries
The Now Explosion


1970 - 1971

The Now Explosion first aired in Atlanta on Channel 36 in 1970. It was a Top 40 music program which, along with airing the current songs of the day, showed images to go with the music, all to the patter of an unseen DJ. Images came from promotional films and videotapes from the bands' management, but the show's producer, Bob Whitney, also created in-studio and on-location film and tape images to play with the songs. He created psychedelic visual effects over the images, producing rapid zooms, shapes morphing on top of images, multiple colors and images. The show is a very good depiction of the music, cultural imagery, and clothing styles of the late 1960s and early 1970s. For more detailed information on the creation of the show, please see show producer Bob Whitney's webpage as well as an article about the show which appeared in the Atlanta Journal Constitution on November 4, 2000.

The archives of this program consist of 1" original videotape, 2" original videotape, 16mm original film, BetaSP preservation masters, and VHS viewing copies. Programs may be viewed on site in the Libraries Media Department. For licensing information, contact the Media Department Head. Please be aware that complex underlying rights in the music depicted and played on the program will restrict reuse.

An inventory of demo tapes, sample reels, and program tapes is available in the Media Department. Contact Archivist Margie Compton at

Music Titles

16mm film productions in the collection which were made by Whitney and his staff to go with songs aired include the following titles:

  • "25 or 6 to 4"
  • "A-B-C"
  • "All in the Game"
  • "All Right Now"
  • "Amazing Grace"
  • "American Woman"
  • "Be My Baby"
  • "Bojangles"
  • "Born to Wander"
  • "Candida"
  • "Cecelia"
  • "Celebrate"
  • "Close to You"
  • "Closer to Home"
  • "Cracklin' Rosie"
  • "Easy Rider"
  • "Engine #9"
  • "Everybody's Leavin' Town"
  • "Everything is Beautiful"
  • "Fire and Rain"
  • "For the Love of Him"
  • "Funny Little Clown"
  • "Georgie Girl"
  • "Grazin' in the Grass"
  • "Green Eyed Lady"
  • "Groovy Situation"
  • "Heaven Help Us All"
  • "House of the Rising Sun"
  • "I Think I Love You"
  • "I Want to Be Free"
  • "I Who Have Nothing"
  • "I'll Be There"
  • "If You Could Read My Mind"
  • "In the Summertime"
  • "In the Year 2525"
  • "Indiana Wants Me"
  • "Instant Karma"
  • "It's Only Make Believe"
  • "Julie Do You Love Me"
  • "Knock 3 Times"
  • "Leavin' on a Jet Plane"
  • "Let it Be"
  • "Little Green Bag"
  • "Long Lonesome Highway"
  • "Love is Blue"
  • "Love Me or Let Me Be Lonely"
  • "Love on a Two-Way Street"
  • "Make it With You"
  • "Make Your Own Kind of Music"
  • "My Baby Loves Love"
  • "My Sweet Lord"
  • "Next Stop Love"
  • "No Time"
  • "Oh Happy Day"
  • "One Bad Apple"
  • "Only Make Believe"
  • "Our House"
  • "Out in the Country"
  • "Peace Will Come"
  • "Potpourri"
  • "Reach Out"
  • "See Me, Feel Me"
  • "Share the Land"
  • "She's a Woman"
  • "Shilo"
  • "Signs"
  • "Sit Yourself Down"
  • "Solitary Man"
  • "Somebody's Been Sleeping"
  • "Somethin's Burnin'"
  • "Spirit in the Sky"
  • "Tears of a Clown"
  • "Tell it All, Brother"
  • "The Love You Save"
  • "Those Were the Days"
  • "Toast and Marmalade"
  • "Up Around the Bend"
  • "Vehicle"
  • "Watching Scotty Grow"
  • "We've Only Just Begun"
  • "Which Way Billy"