University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries
Southeast Regional Emmy Entries Collection


About the Collection

The collection includes many entries from 2002-2007, 2009-2011, and includes footage of the awards ceremony itself from almost every year since 1975, when the ceremonies began.

About the Awards

The Emmy Awards, the television equivalent to the Academy award for film and the Grammy award for music, are presented by three related but separate organizations: the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS), the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS), and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Each is responsible for administering a particular set of Emmy award shows such as the Primetime Emmys or Daytime Emmys.

The Southeast Emmy Awards are a division of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The Atlanta, Georgia division, founded in 1975, grants the Southeast Emmy Awards. They also award scholarships, honor industry veterans at the Silver Circle Celebration, conduct National Student Television Awards of Excellence, and maintain a nationwide job bank. The chapter also participates in judging Emmy entries at the regional and national levels.