Main Library

Capturing Science Contest Opens!

Submitted by cleveland on Fri, 09/01/2017

The University of Georgia Libraries are hosting a Capturing Science Contest to encourage STEM learning in a diverse range of formats and genres. Undergraduate and graduate students are eligible for $1,500 in prizes.  

Participants will explain a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) concept to a broader audience using any media.  

“Any and all formats, media, and genres are encouraged,” said Chandler Christoffel, instruction & research librarian. “Essays, board games, virtual reality, videos, music, software, apps, curricula, lesson plans, poems, infographics, fiction, and exhibits are all accepted!”

Prizes will be awarded in two separate categories for undergraduate and graduate students:

Circulation Services Offline From Monday, May 22 thru Thursday, May 25

Submitted by MaryP on Fri, 05/19/2017

All Circulation services provided through the UGA Libraries' current computer system will be taken offline on Monday, May 22, in preparation for our move to a new system. Only minimal Circulation services will be available at the libraries' service points on campus and at remote sites. There will be no access to any online Circulation services (online renewals, requesting, etc.) from Monday, May 22 thru Thursday, May 25. For more information, please call 706.542.3256 or email maincirc@uga.edu.

Main and Science Libraries - Intersession Hours

Submitted by MaryP on Fri, 05/05/2017

The semester intersession begins on Friday, May 5. The Libraries’ intersession hours are

  • Friday, May 5 - 8am to 6pm   
  • Saturday, May 6 -10am to 6pm
  • Sunday, May 7 - The Libraries are closed
  • Monday, May 8 - 8am to 6pm

 

Maymester begins on Tuesday, May 9. The Libraries’ Maymester hours are:

  • Monday thru Thursday - 7:30am to 8pm
  • Friday - 7:30am to 6pm          
  • Saturday - 10am to 6pm
  • Sunday - 1pm to 8pm

Thanksgiving break hours for Main and Science Libraries

Submitted by amywatts on Fri, 11/18/2016

The Libraries will be operating with shorter hours for the Thanksgiving Break as follows:

Monday, November 21 and Tuesday, November 22 – 8am to 6pm
Wednesday, November 23 – 8am to 5pm
Thursday, November 24 (Thanksgiving Day) – CLOSED
Friday, November 25 – 12pm to 6pm

The Libraries will be closed on Saturday, November 26th for the home football game – Georgia vs. Georgia Tech

Regular Fall semester hours resume on Sunday, November 27th.