New members of Georgia Writers Hall of Fame selected

December 17, 2013 – 2:14 PM

Olive Ann Burns, Mary Hood and Alfred Uhry are the newest members of the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, to be inducted in Fall 2014.

The UGA Libraries are especially proud that Mary Hood’s collections have been published by the UGA Press and the Georgia Review!

The three were elected to the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame by a board of judges appointed by the University of Georgia librarian and which includes academics, civic leaders, and librarians, the heads of the University of Georgia Press and The Georgia Review, and recent Hall of Fame inductees.

The Georgia Writers Hall of Fame began in 2000 at the University of Georgia’s Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, which holds the most comprehensive collection of books by Georgians in existence along with the papers of many Georgia writers.

A date for the 2014 induction ceremony has not been set. For more information:

Biographical information for this article comes from the New Georgia Encyclopedia:


Post a Comment