Bulldog Book Club Meetings This Semester

September 12, 2008 – 1:15 PM

Bulldog reading a book

All are invited to join the Bulldog Book Club for a semester of thought-provoking reading. There is something for every reader this semester. Book selections range from the classic (Jane Eyre) to the comedic (I Am America – And So Can You!). Bulldog Book Club meetings are also Blue Card events.

All meetings are held at Jittery Joe’s on the second floor in the Student Learning Center. For more information, visit the Bulldog Book Club page.

Jack Kerouac, On the Road
Wednesday, September 17, 3:30 pm and Tuesday, September 23, 11 am.

T
he most famous of Jack Kerouac’s works is not only the soul of the Beat movement and literature, but one of the most important novels of the century, describing a cross-country Bohemian odyssey.”

Bonus Book Club Selection Rudolfo Anaya, Bless Me, Ultima (Athens’ Big Read Book Selection)
Monday, September 22, 11 am; Monday, September 29, 3:30 pm; Monday, October 6, 11 am; Monday October 13, 3:30 pm
A boy’s life in 1940s
New Mexico.

E. M. Forster, A Passage to India
Wednesday, October 1,
3:30 and Tuesday, October 7, 11 am

Three English visitors in colonial India and their encounter with an Indian doctor.

Hunter S. Thompson, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
Wednesday, October 15, 3:30 and Tuesday, October 21, 11 am
.
Sex, drugs, and rock and roll: from the writer who re-wrote American journalism.

Election Day Special! Stephen Colbert, I Am America—and So Can You
Wednesday, October 29, 3:30 and Tuesday, November 4, 11 am

The political philosophy of pop pundit Colbert.

Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre
Wednesday, November 12, 3:30 and Tuesday, November 18, 11 am
The classic novel of a governess who loves Mr. Rochester. Unfortunately, Mr. R. has a madwoman locked in the attic…

Post a Comment