GWHF inductees announced

September 30, 2009 – 3:14 PM

Two members of the University of Georgia faculty and staff, Judith Ortiz Cofer and Philip Lee Williams, are among the 2010 inductees into the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame. Other inductees are Georgia Douglas Camp Johnson (1886-1966) and Walter Francis White (1893-1955). The 2010 honorees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at its annual forum and awards ceremony, tentatively scheduled to take place at UGA’s Miller Learning Center March 22-23.
The UGA Libraries established the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame to recognize Georgia writers, past and present, whose work reflects the character of the state—its land and its people. Although there are a few award programs in the state that recognize specific books, the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame is the first to honor Georgia writers for their overall contributions to culture.

More bio info here:

Tags: ,

Post a Comment